Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (2)

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where readers get the chance to spotlight those upcoming releases that we are eager to get.

In this follow-up to Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas begins seeing Anna everywhere: sometimes when he’s asleep, and sometimes in waking nightmares. But something is very wrong. These aren’t just daydreams. Anna seems tortured, torn apart in new and ever more gruesome ways every time she appears. 

Cas doesn’t know what happened to Anna when she disappeared into Hell, but he knows she doesn’t deserve whatever is happening to her now. Anna saved Cas more than once, and it’s time for him to return the favor.

I really can't wait to read this book! I loved Anna Dressed in Blood. I thought the writing was phenomenal. The characters I just loved. I loved Cas, Anna, and Cas's mom, I loved every single character in this book. So if you have not read this book.... PLEASE read it. It is so suspenseful, full of action, and a little bot of romance. So I can not wait for this book to come out. 

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Top Ten Tuesday : TBR List for Winter

I am so excited for winter, there are so many great books coming out this winter that I just can't wait to read.
Some of the books I have on this list have already cam out, I just really want to read them.
 1) Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare.
I loved Clockwork Angel, I just love Cassandra's writing, and I already know that I am going to devour reading this book!

    2) Beautiful Chaos by Kami Garcia and Margeret Stohl
I had just finished Beautiful Darkness, and I loved it. I can't wait to continue the series.
3) Dash & Lily's Book Of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
This book is the perfect short winter read, I heard amazing things about this book. Can't wait to read it. 

  4) Dearly, Departed by Liz Habel
I haven't heard much about this book but it sounds really good.
5) Fire by Kristen Cashore
I heard a lot of great things about this book. I am really excited to read this book.

   6) Graceling by Kristen Cashore
Of course I am going to read this one, If I read Fire. Bit sound like a really awesome book. 
 7) Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini
This book has been out a while, but I love Greek Mythology, and can't wait to read this book.
8) Jessica Rules the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey
I loved Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side, and I truly can't wait to read this book.

 9) Bloodrose by Andrea Creamer
I loved Nightshade, I thought Wolfsbane was okay, But I am hoping this one is better. I love Ren!

10) Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan
I heard this book was amazing, funny, and just awesome. So I am really excited to read this.

Saturday, November 26, 2011

In My Mailbox (8)

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren

This week I only got one thing but I am really excited to read it.

 Soul Screamers by Rachel Vincent. This has 2 books and a Prequel in it. I have not read this series yet, and I am really excited to reading it, it sounds really good.

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (1)

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine. It's a weekly meme to talk about what upcoming book we're most looking forward to reading, that is yet to come out. 

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
Released: December 6, 2011
Publisher: Margaret. K McElderry Books

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa's powers for his own dark ends.
With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister's war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move and that one of their own has betrayed them.
Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, though her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will; the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?
As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.
So as you know I loved Clockwork Angel. That book was one of my favorites. And I can not wait until this book comes out, I am so excited and anxious to read it! 

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Daughter of Smoke and Bone - Book Review

Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

Released: September 27, 2011
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Pages: 420
Rate: 4.5/5

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky. 

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil's supply of human teeth grown dangerously low. 

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war. 

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she's prone to disappearing on mysterious "errands"; she speaks many languages--not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she's about to find out. 

When one of the strangers--beautiful, haunted Akiva--fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

My Review:
This book has been on my shelf for quite sometime. A lot of reviews have loved this book. SO i finally got to read it. 

There were so many emotions going on in my head when I was reading this book. At first wen I started it, I had no clue what was going on. But then I kept reading, then I started to understand what was going on in the plot line. Taylor did a phenomenal job. I just really loved the book. 

Karou was such a kick A character, I loved her. She didn't let people get away . She was a really strong and independent character. So if you haven't read this bool, please put it at the top of your to be read pile. It is so good. 

Happy reading! 

Teaser Tuesday (1)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
Grab your current read
Open to a random page
Share two (2) "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the Title & Author, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

" Zuzanna gave Karou the suspicious rendition of the eyebrow arch. 'I don't know which you mean,' Karou lied calmly. 'I have lots of tattoos.' To demonstrate she didn't flash true or story, or the serpents coiled around her ankle, or any of her other concealed works of art.

p.14, Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.

Monday, November 21, 2011

Dusty Read (1)

Dusty Reads is a Weekly meme hosted by .Xpresso Reads.

BROOKLYN: Andi Alpers is on the edge. She’s angry at her father for leaving, angry at her mother for not being able to cope, and heartbroken by the loss of her younger brother, Truman. Rage and grief are destroying her. And she’s about to be expelled from Brooklyn Heights’ most prestigious private school when her father intervenes. Now Andi must accompany him to Paris for winter break.
PARIS: Alexandrine Paradis lived over two centuries ago. She dreamed of making her mark on the Paris stage, but a fateful encounter with a doomed prince of France cast her in a tragic role she didn’t want—and couldn’t escape.
Two girls, two centuries apart. One never knowing the other. But when Andi finds Alexandrine’s diary, she recognizes something in her words and is moved to the point of obsession. There’s comfort and distraction for Andi in the journal’s antique pages—until, on a midnight journey through the catacombs of Paris, Alexandrine’s words transcend paper and time, and the past becomes suddenly, terrifyingly present.
Jennifer Donnelly, author of the award-winning novel A Northern Light, artfully weaves two girls’ stories into one unforgettable account of life, loss, and enduring love. Revolution spans centuries and vividly depicts the eternal struggles of the human heart.

This book has been on my shelf for quite some time. I just haven't read it yet. I haven't really heard many reviews on this one book. 

Anna Dressed in Blood - Book Review

Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake

Released:  August 30, 2011
Publisher: Tor Teen
Pages: 316
Rate: 5/5 

Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.

So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father's mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. Together they follow legends and local lore, trying to keep up with the murderous dead—keeping pesky things like the future and friends at bay.
When they arrive in a new town in search of a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas doesn't expect anything outside of the ordinary: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he's never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.
But she, for whatever reason, spares Cas's life.

My Review:
So I just decided to check this book out, and read it. Let me tell you this, this book was amazing. I LOVED it. That's how good it was. I was so suspenseful, and just fantastic.
I love the plot. It is just really creative, and I just loved it. That characters, Cas. He is one of my favorite male characters, I thought he was strong, and just nice. He was the perfect main character. Anna. I loved her, even thought she may be a little scary, she was a girl before not a monster, and Cas sees both sides to Anna. I loved there connection in the book. All in all this book was just so amazing, I would definetley recommend this book to everyone. 

Beautiful Darkness- Book review

Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Released: October 12, 2010
Publisher: Little Brown
Pages: 503
Rate: 4.5/5

Ethan Wate used to think of Gatlin, the small Southern town he had always called home, as a place where nothing ever changed. Then he met mysterious newcomer Lena Duchannes, who revealed a secret world that had been hidden in plain sight all along. A Gatlin that harbored ancient secrets beneath its moss-covered oaks and cracked sidewalks. A Gatlin where a curse has marked Lena's family of powerful Supernaturals for generations. A Gatlin where impossible, magical, life-altering events happen.
Sometimes life-ending.
Together they can face anything Gatlin throws at them, but after suffering a tragic loss, Lena starts to pull away, keeping secrets that test their relationship. And now that Ethan's eyes have been opened to the darker side of Gatlin, there's no going back. Haunted by strange visions only he can see, Ethan is pulled deeper into his town's tangled history and finds himself caught up in the dangerous network of underground passageways endlessly crisscrossing the South, where nothing is as it seems.
So I was a little hesitant to read this book. I liked Beautiful Creatures, but didn't love it. But once I read this book I wanted to continue reading the series. I loves this book. It was soooo good. 
The plot was different then Beautiful Creatures but kind of had the same premise. But I loved the whole story line, and I just loved everything in this book. I usually don't like , the second book in the series , but this book was amazing! I loved it, I really don't know what else to say about this book. Let's talk about the characters. Ethan . I really liked him in this books, I think we really learned more about him, and what he loves. Lena. She kinda got on my nerves just a little bit, but we did see a lot of character development with her also. With all that being said, I would recommend this series, and I am going to read the third book Beautiful Chaos pretty soon. I am soo excited!!

Sunday, November 20, 2011

Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa: Book Review

Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa

Released: October 25, 2011
Publisher: Harlenquin Teen
Pages: 361
Rate: 5/5
Note: If you have not read the first three books in The Iron Fey Series, I suggest you not read this review.

Ash, former prince of the Winter Court, gave up everything. His title, his home, even his vow of loyalty. All for a girl… and all for nothing. 
Unless he can earn a soul. 
To cold, emotionless faery prince Ash, love was a weakness for mortals and fools. His own love had died a horrible death, killing any gentler feelings the Winter prince might have had. Or so he thought. 
Then Meghan Chase—a half human, half fey slip of a girl— smashed through his barricades, binding him to her irrevocably with his oath to be her knight. And when all of Faery nearly fell to the Iron fey, she severed their bond to save his life. Meghan is now the Iron Queen, ruler of a realm where no Winter or Summer fey can survive. 

With the (unwelcome) company of his archrival, Summer Court prankster Puck, and the infuriating cait sith Grimalkin, Ash begins a journey he is bound to see through to its end— a quest to find a way to honor his solemn vow to stand by Meghan’s side. 
To survive in the Iron realm, Ash must have a soul and a mortal body. But the tests he must face to earn these things are impossible. At least, no one has ever passed to tell the tale. 
And then Ash learns something that changes everything. A truth that turns reality upside down, challenges his darkest beliefs and shows him that, sometimes, it takes more than courage to make the 

ultimate sacrifice.

okay so I had read this book a couple weeks ago. I just now got to reviewing it. As you can see from my rating I loved this book. When I had finished The Iron Queen, I thought that was the last book, and I was not happy with the way it ended, I wanted to have a noce closed and happy ending. But then I found out that there was another book, and I was so happy! I could not wait to get my hands on this book, and let me tell you Iron Fey fans, you will not be disapointed.

Julie Kagawa did a phenominal job on her writhing. It was amazing. All the Team Ash fans this book will not disapoint.

On to the plot. I really thought it was going to drag on a bit, but it never got slow. That's what I loved.  This book is about Ash going to try and find a soul to be with Meghan, as it says in the synopsis. But along the way he goes through some major obstacles. One in particular that real shocked me, and threw a major curve in the plot. Now the characters were Ash, Puck, Grim, and others. Ash really grew in this book, we sae some major character development, also with Puck, Grim was the same from the first three books. 

With all of that being said I really loved and enjoyed this book, and would reccomend the sereid to everyone it is so good. 


In My Mailbox (7)

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren

This week I got a couple books, one in 3 in particular I heard a lot of great things about, I am really excited to rad all of these books.

  • Entwined by Heather Dixon
  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  • Shatter Me Tahereh Mafi
  • The Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Lani Taylor

Sunday, November 13, 2011

10 Things We Did (and probably shouldn't have) by Sarah Mlynowski

10 things we did (and probably shouldn't have) by Sarah Mlynowski

Released: June 7, 2011
Published: HarperTeen
Pages: 368

2 girls + 3 guys + 1 house – parents = 10 things April and her friends did that they (definitely, maybe, probably) shouldn't have. 

If given the opportunity, what sixteen-year-old wouldn't jump at the chance to move in with a friend and live parent-free? Although maybe "opportunity" isn't the right word, since April had to tell her dad a tiny little untruth to make it happen (see #1: "Lied to Our Parents"). But she and her housemate Vi are totally responsible and able to take care of themselves. How they ended up "Skipping School" (#3), "Throwing a Crazy Party" (#8), "Buying a Hot Tub" (#4), and, um, "Harboring a Fugitive" (#7) at all is kind of a mystery to them. 

In this hilarious and bitter sweet tale, Sarah Mlynowski mines the heart and mind of a girl on her own for the first time. To get through the year, April will have to juggle a love triangle, learn to do her own laundry, and accept that her carefully constructed world just might be falling apart . . . one thing-she-shouldn't-have-done at a time.

I really enjoyed this book. I just finished it yesturday, and I had read it in one sitting. I loved how this book had it's realistic moments, and serious moments. But it also had it's Laugh out loud moments. I just loved the plot, characters, and even the setting of this book.

Basically, April's father is moving away, and It is April's Junior year, and she doesn't want to move for a couple of reasons, one is that she doesn't want to leave her boyfriend Noah, and also she doesn't want to leave her best friends. So then she stays with her friend Vi, and that's the premise of the story. They basically did 10 things that the probably shouldn't have, hence the title. I really like Mlynowski's writing style. I thoroughly  enjoyed how each chapter was the each the thing that they did, so 10 chapters in all. I really liked that. 

Characters.. So there are too many characters in this story, but i will just tell you the characters that I thought were important in the storyline, and some characters that I liked. April, she was a cool character, she was one of the girls, that likes to play by the rules, but could also break a few. She was a great main character. Vi. to me Vi was like an older sister to April, but also a really good best friend, she was fun, outgoing, and more. Noah. I really wasn't to fond of him, he in the story is April's boyfriend of 2 years. I just did not feel the connection, and the stuff he did to April, made me not like him even more. If you want to find out what I am talking about, READ THE BOOK. haha . Hudson. I loved him! I wish there was more of Hudson in this book, and there were definetley some swoon worthy moments between Husdon and April.

So this review is really long, but I just love this book, so if you have not read this ook, PLEASEE read it. It is truly amazing.

4.5/5 stars


13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Released: October 18, 2007
Published: RazorBill
Pages: 288

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.
On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out how he made the list.
Through Hannah and Clay's dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.
So I know, I am just barely reading this book. I just have never really thought about reading it. Then I decided to read it and I was truly inspired. I loved this book. It was just so good. I really loved everything about this book. I typically don't go for the serious books, and I really liked it. 
The story line revolves around Clay getting Hannah's tapes. Clay also doesn't really know why  he is one of the reasons that Hannah did what she did. So we hear Hannah's tapes throughout the story. 
The book is truly inspiring. It really opens your eyes to see what other people might be going through, and you really don't know. So I absolutely loved this book. I was a real eye-opener. Awesome book I would reccomend this book to anyone.
5/5 stars

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Released: January 4, 2011
Published: HarperCollins
Pages: 435

In the beginning, there's a boy standing in the trees . . . .
Clara Gardner has recently learned that she's part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has apurpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn't easy.
Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place—and out of place at the same time. Because there's another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara's less angelic side.
As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she'd have to make—between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?
Unearthly is a moving tale of love and fate, and the struggle between following the rules and following your heart.
Okay, now I have wanted this book for quite some time, and I have finally gotten it, and read it. I really liked this book. I really loved the characters, plot, and I love the cover. 
Okay so the Plot is basically what it says in the synopsis. What I really loved about the plot though, was that Clara already knew she was half angel, and the whole novel wasn't  about her discovering what she is, and her purpose. She already knew what she was, and knew what her purpose on life was. 
The characters.. Clara she was a great protaganist. I loved her character, she wasn't whiny, she was just great. Christian.  I know a lot of people did not like him, but I really did he was one of my favorite characters. I really loved how he was just super nice, and was there for Clara through the book. Tucker, Okay , I really didn't like Tucker. I didn't hate him, but her just wasn't that good of a character to me. I felt like Clara and Tucker's relationship was kind of rushed. Well at least it felt like that to me, I just really liked Christian I guess.
The ending! Oh my. I am just needing to know what happens next! The next book is called Hallowed. I can not wait. The ending of Unearthly was just.. ugh i have to find out what is going to happen next. It was kind of a major cliffhanger, but then at the same time not, It was just soo shocking. So if you have not read this, you should read it. It's Amazing!
Tell me if you like Christian or Tucker better? or if you like both.
4.5/5 stars

In My Mailbox (6)

In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristy at The Story Siren

I haven's done an in my mailbox in quite some time. Well Here is a big In My Mailbox. I am really excited to read all of these books.
I Am Number Four 
Beautiful Darkness
Beautiful Chaos
Iron Knight
As you Wish 
Dearly Departed
The Knife of Never Letting Go
13 Reasons Why
Will Grayson, Will Grayson