Sunday, September 25, 2011

Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

Released: January 1, 2011
Published: Walker books for Young Reades
Pages: 360

When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created “perfect” life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she's worked so hard for—her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect. Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more.  In a passionate story about looking beneath the surface, Simone Elkeles breaks through the stereotypes and barriers that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart.
Information from Goodreads

Wow... That's all I can say about this book is Wow. To be completely honest, I wasn't in a rush to read this book. I don't know why, but I just kept pushing it further down on my to be read pile. But then I just decided that I should read it. And I absolutely loved this book. 

I really liked the characters in this book. Brittany, She was the popular girl that everybody wants to be. But I really liked how Elkeles, gave us an inside look on that you don't judge a book by its cover. I loved how Brittany was just as fragile inside, and had real feelings like the rest of do. Alex Alex Alex. I loved his character in this book! I loved how he was a bad boy in this novel. I loved seeing it in his perspective at times, he is also an example of how you don't judge a book by its cover. LOVED LOVED LOVED this book.

Like I said before, I loved the different perspectives between Alex, and Brittany. With that being said, I totally reccomend this book to anyone, a really good read.
5/5 stars


In my Mailbox (3)

In my Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren

I am really excited for the books that I got this week. I have already read two of the books that I have gotten.

  •  Looking for Alaska by John Green
  • If I stay by Gayle Forman 
  • The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Sunday, September 11, 2011

In My Mailbox (2)

In My Mailbox is Hosted by The Story Siren

This week I only got one book, but I am really excited for it.

The Lying Game by Sara Shepard

Saturday, September 3, 2011

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Released: August 16, 2007
Published: Razorbill
Pages: 332

St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school—it’s a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They’ve been on the run, but now they’re being dragged back to St. Vladimir’s—the very place where they’re most in danger. . . .
Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy’s ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi—the world’s fiercest and most dangerous vampires—make Lissa one of them forever.

Information from Goodreads

 No words to describe this book, I thought it was reallly really good. one of the est vampire books I have ever read. Yeah , it was just that good. AMAZING!!!

The characters were soo good. Rose is the main character in this book, we read it in her perspective. She always had these snarky comments which were hilarious. I loved her personality, I thought she was funny. So great main character. Lissa, I though she let Rose do everything for her. I felt like she couldn't do anything on her own, or defend herself. I felt like Rose was always defending her, and always putting Lissa before herself. Dimitri. I loved him. He was the mysterious mentor that rose had, and with his Romanian accent. Loved him. 

So definetley read this book it is worth the read ! With that being said I would rate it:
4.5/5 stars


Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

Released: October 19, 2010
Published: Simon & Schuster
Pages: 427

This is the second book in a series, Please do not read this review if you have not read the first book in the series, called Hush Hush, for that it may contain spoilers for Hush Hush. This review will NOT contain spoilers for Crescendo.

Nora Grey's life is still far from perfect. Surviving an attempt on her life wasn't pleasant, but at least she got a guardian angel out of it: a mysterious, magnetic, gorgeous guardian angel. But, despite his role in her life, Patch has been acting anything but angelic. He's more elusive than ever and even worse, he's started spending time with Nora's arch-enemy, Marcie Millar.

Nora would have hardly noticed Scott Parnell, an old family friend who has moved back to town, if Patch hadnt been acting so distant. Even with Scott's totally infuriating attitude Nora finds herself drawn to him - despite her lingering feeling that he's hiding something.

Haunted by images of her murdered father, and questioning whether her nephilim bloodline has anything to do with his death, Nora puts herself increasingly in dangerous situations as she desperately searches for answers. But maybe some things are better left buried, because the truth could destroy everything - and everyone - she trusts.

This is the sequel to Hush Hush . I really liked Hush Hush, I though it was an amazing book. I thought that Crecsendo was just as good. It was really good I thought, i flew through the book. 

Nora was more annoying in this book then she was in Hush Hush. I was like yelling at the book, telling her to make up her mind, and make the right decision. But then again that part did not ruin the book for me. Nora was also smart, and sometimes funny. Patch, he was the same as he was in the first book. He was mysterious, funny, and more. I loved him in this book as well. 

So all in all I would definetley keep reading on in the series. I can not wait untill the third book comes out, because this book left out a a huge cliff hanger! haha but I would rate this book a:
4/5 stars
Happy Reading!


Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Released: September 1, 2009
Published: Scholastic Press
Pages: 391

Please do not read this review, if you have not read the first book, called The Hunger Games, for that it might contain spoilers for that book, but will NOT contain spoilers for Catching Fire.

Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark won the annual competition described in Hunger Games, but the aftermath leaves these victors with no sense of triumph. Instead, they have become the poster boys for a rebellion that they never planned to lead. That new, unwanted status puts them in the bull's-eye for merciless revenge by The Capitol. Catching Fire maintains the adrenaline rush of Suzanne Collins's series launch.
Information from Goodreads

WOW WOW WOW WOW. I didn't think any book could get better then The Hunger Games. I would have to say I loved The Hunger Games, just a little but more then this one, but that is just by a little. 

Katniss in this book is basically the same from in The Hunger Games. she is still very independent and stubborn, but a great protagonist. Peeta. I loved him even more in this book, I think he developed a lot in this book, He really proved his strength in this book, I fell like he wasn't as mellow, and shy in this book, and I really like this Peeta. Gale, still didnt have a lot of Gale, we did have more Gale then we did in the first book, he is still kind of a mystery to me, so I can't really say that I like him as a character yet. 

So If you have read the first book, I would definetley countinue on with this series, it is amazing, and action packed! So please read this trilogy. With that being said i would rate it:
5/5 stars


Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Released: October 13, 2009 
Published: Simon & Schuster
Pages: 391

For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her...until Patch comes along.
With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment, but after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is far more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.
For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.

Synopsis from Goodreads 

I read this book a couple months ago, and I loveed it. I thought it was such an amazing book. I love the whole idea of the story.  I would recommend this book to everybody.

The characters in this book amazing. Our main character is Nora. I think Nora was a good main character, smart, funny, but sometimes she would be a little bit annoying, but that did not change my opinion about the book. Patch. I though patch was fantastic. He was so mysterious, and that bad boy, which makes everybody love him even more. I loved his role in this book. Vee, she was Nora's best friend in the book, she was cool, she kind of acted like a 10 year old at time, but other then that a good character. 

Love the story line. Amazing loved the aspect of the fallen angels. SO i would definetley go check this book out and read it, it is really good.
4/5 stars


The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa

The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa

Released: January 25, 2011
Published: Harlequin Teen

This review may contain spoilers from the first two books. The Iron King and The Iron Daughter. Please don now read this review if you haven't read the two. This review will NOT Contain spoilers from The Iron Queen. 

My name is Meghan Chase.
I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who's sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I'm not sure anyone can survive it.
This time, there will be no turning back.

WHOAA. This book was FAN-TAS-TIC!! I loved it. I was so excited when I bought this book I wanted to read it right away. I read it and had so many mixed emotions, I would be sad, mad, happy, and I just kept thinking about the book after I read it. Julie Kagawa did it again in the third installment in the Iron Fey series. 

I fell like in all my reviews on this series I say the same thing about the characters. But there is a total character development in this series. Meghan! In this book, she really proved herself th being a strong and independent person. She didn't really take orders from anyone, she played by her own rules, which I really like how she developed from the first to the third. Ash. Ash, was the protective guy in this book, don't get me wrong I loved him in this book, and his character also developed, I think that he opened up more in this book . We got to know the real Ash, and some of his past, and his stories from his past, he was just soo amazing in this book. Puck grew a lot to. He proved himself in this book. But I will still say this, and it will always stay the same, Team Ash. But Puck was still his Hilarious self in this book. 
Grim, same not much of a character development, but you still love this crazy cat. haha. 

I was soo sad at the end of the book, I thought it was really sad, and I think a lot of people will love this book. It has so many twists and turns, in amazing. But the ending was shocking, and if you want to find out read this book , If you have not read the first two read those first. haha
5/5 stars


The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa

The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa

Released: August 1, 2010
Published: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 359

Please do not read this review if you have not read the first book, it might contain Spoilers from The Iron King.

Half Summer faery princess, half human, Meghan has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen. As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron Fey, iron-bound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her. Worse, Meghan's own fey powers have been cut off. She's alone in Faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly. But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can't help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart.

I don't even have words to say about this book. AMAZING for starters! Another amazing book by Julie Kagawa, I absolutely love her writing style its amazing. I loved this book, maybe even better then the first one, it was just that good. 

There was so much character development in the book.  Meghan, I felt like she did a good job of holding it together considering that she has to stay in the winter court, due ti the promise that she made to Ash. I felt like she was vulnerable, and that she handled it well. Ash, I thought he had the most character development in this book, he isn't the ice cold prince that everybody sees him as, he does have a heart. I felt bad for him, so I really loved Ash in the book. Still Team Ash! Puck, had some character development, still the funny best friend, that we think really likes Meghan, and for all you Team Puck fans, there are defintley some scenes that you will love in this book. Grimalkin. Grim, Same ol same ol cat . Super funny , and still saying his famous one liner hahaa. 

To sum up , defiantly read the Iron Fey series, you will not be disappointed, READ the Iron King ,then this one. Amazing series! 
5/5 stars


Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey

Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey

Released: Febuary 1, 2009
Published: Harcourt
Pages: 351

The undead can really screw up your senior year...
Marrying a vampire definitely doesn’t fit into Jessica Packwood’s senior year “get-a-life” plan. But then a bizarre (and incredibly hot) new exchange student named Lucius Vladescu shows up, claiming that Jessica is a Romanian vampire princess by birth—and he’s her long-lost fiancĂ©. Armed with newfound confidence and a copy of Growing Up Undead: A Teen Vampire’s Guide to Dating, Health, and Emotions, Jessica makes a dramatic transition from average American teenager to glam European vampire princess. But when a devious cheerleader sets her sights on Lucius, Jess finds herself fighting to win back her wayward prince, stop a global vampire war — and save Lucius’s soul from eternal destruction

Fantastic Book. Loved it. There aren't any words to describe this book, for one thing I thought it was amazing. It's not your typical vampire book, and that's what I also love about this book. 

The main character of this book is Jessica, and I thought she was a great main character, she didnt just instantly fall in love when saw first saw Lucius. She was a great protagonist. Lucius. I loved his character. But I also got super mad at him on the decisions he made, but that make you love him even more.  He was always so mysterious, and nice. 

So the whole Romanian vampire princess awesome right?! Loved it. Great story line. Loved evrerything about this book, I really don't know what else to say. Just read it ! haha please.
5/5 stars


The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

Released: Febuary 1, 2010
Published: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 363

Meghan Chase has a secret destiny- One she could never have imagined.

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan's life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school... or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she's known is about to change.

But she could have never guessed the truth- that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she'll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face... and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

Woww! I LOVED this book. I loved everything about this book. From the cover to everything inside the book. I reead this book in about a day. It was that good. I really was never going to read this book series until I heard so many great reviews on this book series.

SO the main characters name is Meghan, I thought she was a good protagonist. I like how she wasn't too clingy but yet she wasn't all the way independent, and I feel like that is more realistic then a character that doesn't need anybody's help. Because I think some way or another people need help, so that'ts what I liked about Meghan. Ash. I really loved him in this book. I was totally Team Ash, I just liked how he developed as a character throughout the book, first he was the mean ice prince, to someone that has a soft side and cares about people... a.k.a Meghan. So i just loved him. Puck. I liked Puck. But I just liked him . I thought he was a great charcater, but i didn't think he was a good love interest in this book. With that being said, I am Team Ash. But I loved Puck's sense of humor, some parts he literally had me laughing out loud. Grimalkin. I lived him. He was so funny, and I loved all of his comments. Especially The line he always says " I am a Cat." haha.

To the story line, I though it was amazing as well. This was the first faery book that I have read and love. Loved the whole aspect of the story, Meghan trying to find  her brother, and running into problems on the way. But I loved the book ! I reccomend this book, go read it! haha.
5/5 stars


Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

Released: October 19, 2010
Published: Philomel
Pages: 452

Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she'll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But when she violates her masters' laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything— including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?

whoaa.. This book was amazing. I could not put this book down. I loved it ! And let me say I also love this cover. I love all the purpleness to it. It's so gorgeous! But I also love how this book is about werewolves.

SO i loved the characters in this book beside 1. Calla, she was vary independent, and didn't really like taking orders from her Alpha. Great character. Ren. I loved Ren! He was the bad boy in this book. Cremer kind of made us not like him in the beginning, because he was being a Jerk, but then he really grows on you, you can tell that he really cares about Calla. Shay.. I did not like Shay. In the beginning I was rooting for Shay, but then after we got to know him better I just didn't like him to much, I thought that sometimes that he was weak, and didn't care for Calla like Ren did. 

The plot was amazing. I loved how there were two packs. And Calla and Ren had to get married to get there own pack. Loved the story line.  So I totally reccomend this book to everyone. 
4.5/5 stars


City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones 

Released: Febuary 19, 2008
Publisher: McElderry Books
Pages: 485

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know...

Sooo... I loved this book ! To tell you the truth, I wasn't going to read this book, but then I heard a lot of great book reviews of it, and decided to give it a try. And boy am I not disappointed.    

The characters in this book were great! Clary. She was strong willed, and determined to know what is going on in her life right now, and to figure out what happend to her mother. I thought she was a great main character. Jace.Jace.Jace. I absolutely loved his character. I loved how he would be so caring but yet at the same time have that bad boy aspect in him. SO definetley a great character. Simon. I thought he was a great character also. He was a good best friend to Clary and really cares about her. 

Besides the characters I thought the plot was FANTASTIC.  The whole Shadowhunter world I loved! It was so interesting, I could literally not put this book down. With that being said I loved loved loved loved this book, go read it ! 
5/5 stars.